The Order of Friar Servants of Mary was founded by a group of seven men in the first half of the 13th century. These seven lay men who founded the order, were canonized by Pope Leo XIII on the 15th of January 1888. The Order of the Servants of Mary is one of the first five mendicant religious Orders. At the Present, there are around thousand members all around the globe. Servite friars are present in more than thirty countries.
“The Order of Friar Servants of Mary, is a community of men gathered together in the name of Jesus the Lord”. “Moved by the Spirit, we commit ourselves, as did our first fathers, to witness the gospel in fraternal communion and to be at the service of God and all his children, drawing constant inspiration from Mary, Mother and Servant of the Lord”. We follow the Augustinian rule of life.
There are 20 sister congregations to the Order of the Servants of Mary such as the Cloistered nun found in Spain, Italy, England, and Germany. There are also the Mantellate Sisters. These are found in Italy, France, Spain, England, Canada, Swaziland and Uganda. There is also a third order which includes the Secular Servants of Mary, Regnum Mariea and a Confraternity of the Seven Dolours. These share part of the life of the Order.
The East African Delegation is made up of four Formation Communities and two parishes. The communities include Servite Formation Community-Kisoga in Mukono(U), Two Servite Formation Communities in Jinja(U) and Servite Formation Community-Nairobi(Kenya). Parishes include Kisoga Parish in Mukono and Ndejje Parish-Kampala(U).
For more information, visit: